2015 Reading Challenge

bookshelves

The 2015 Goodreads Reading Challenge is happening, and this year, I will triumph. I’m confident. Mostly because I actually remembered to set myself the challenge this time.

50 books seemed unrealistic. That’s almost the equivalent of one a week, and until the invention of a three-day weekend, where would one find the time? Therefore I chose 40 as the more reasonable target for my challenge.

Due to a combination of factors working against me, I didn’t make any new year’s resolutions this year. So let this be my only one. Armed with my new Kindle (thanks bro!) and the stack of books my housemates and I have accumulated over 2014, I have made the following list. You’ll note that the list isn’t the full 40, but I’m leaving some space for books that come to my attention during the course of 2015.

  1. The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith
  2. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime – Mark Haddon
  3. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  4. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt
  5. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
  6. The Spy Who Came in from the Cold – John le Carré
  7. A Visit From the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan
  8. The Scorch Trials – James Dashner
  9. The Death Cure – James Dashner
  10. The Kill Zone – James Dashner
  11. The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells – Andrew Sean Greer
  12. Not That Kind of Girl – Lena Dunham
  13. Yes, Please – Amy Poehler
  14. The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion
  15. Just Kids – Patti Smith
  16. I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts On Being a Woman – Nora Ephron
  17. The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton
  18. Mrs Dalloway – Virginia Woolf
  19. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim – David Sedaris*
  20. Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls – David Sedaris
  21. Insurgent – Veronica Roth
  22. Allegiant – Veronica Roth
  23. City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare
  24. Ugly Girls – Lindsay Hunter
  25. Bad Feminist – Roxanne Gay
  26. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Joy Fowler
  27. Girl, Interrupted – Susanna Kaysen
  28. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – John Le Carre
  29. Consider the Lobster and Other Essays – David Foster Wallace*
  30. Morrissey – Morrissey
  31. The Black Echo – Michael Connelly
  32. The Subtle Knife – Philip Pullman
  33. The Amber Spyglass – Phillip Pullman
  34. Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides

*In the interest of transparency, these books I in fact started in 2014, but due to their nature (i.e. short stories/essays), I tend to read them on and off. Is it therefore cheating if I include them in the list? NO.

One thought on “2015 Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: A dismal effort. | Order In The Chaos

Leave a Reply

