New Year’s Resolution: Explore

SEA_7591

I’ve made a thousand New Year’s Resolutions, all of them clichéd that go along the lines of ‘put away the Haribo and go to the gym’. None of them, however, are worth boring anyone with a monotonous blog post about.

With possibly the one exception.  This year I’ve made the resolution to travel more.

Very soon, thanks to my new job, I’m going to become re-acquainted with something called a weekend. Apparently it’s where you get two days off work at a time, one after the other.  Believe it or believe it not, I’ve worked more or less every weekend since I was 15 so this is a BIG DEAL to me.

Thus, in the hope of not actually wasting this valuable time off, I’ve decided that in 2014, I’m going to make use of these weekends and visit a few places that I’ve always wanted to see, be them near or far away.

Glendalough, Co, Wicklow

Monastic city, Upper Lake and Lower Lake, Glendalough, Ireland

I have little to no excuse as to why I’ve never been here before. It’s an hour drive from my house in Dublin, or alternatively an hour and a half drive from my home in Kilkenny.

For those who have no idea what Glendalough is, it translates literally as ‘The Valley of the Two Lakes’ and is home to an early Christian monastic settlement.

It sits pretty in the Wicklow Mountain National Park and there’s even a round tower. Everyone loves a good round tower.

Cliffs of Moher, Co. Clarecliffs-of-moher

I just really really want to sit on the edge of the Cliffs of Moher and be simultaneously thrilled and terrified.

The Cliffs are one of Ireland’s greatest landmarks, and for any Harry Potter nerds out there, they also make an appearance in the Half Blood Prince as the setting for the cave where Harry and Dumbledore go hunting for  the horcrux. Reason enough to pay them a visit, I reckon.

 

Bundoran_Strand,_Co._DonegalBundoran, Co. Donegal

I cannot surf. I do not know how to, nor have I ever attempted to learn. However this year, I am going to go to Bundoran and I’ll be damned if I won’t at least try.

I may also go canoeing. Which I have done before, and am not altogether terrible at. Much.

This one may need to wait until there’s a bout of good weather.

 

Blarney Castle, Co. Corkblarney castle

I was meant to visit Blarney Castle in 2013, and had even arranged to go one weekend until unforeseen circumstances (work) got in the way. Thus it’s vital that I actually manage to make the trip this year.

Sure don’t I have to shift the Blarney Stone for the gift of eloquence?

 

 

0858e47cce38e05d13cb05ad591cca41Edinburgh, Scotland 

Thus far in my 21 years, the only part of Scotland I’ve been to is Aberdeen, but I’ve always longed to go to Edinburgh. The scenery looks amazing. Plus my girl JK Rowling lives there (Harry Potter nerds again).

It also has the allure of being a short plane ride away so really a weekend away there shouldn’t be a difficult feat.

 

 

2972ff6d5531ea6a9ab5fa026a21512b

 

Prague, Czech Republic

I have a giant travel crush on Prague. It’s always number 1 on my wish list of places to go. Last year, I so very nearly had my family convinced to take a trip there for my dad’s 60th birthday, but somehow we ended up in Westport instead. Sigh.

2014 will be the year I finally make it there though. And finally the Prague travel book I bought two years ago will get to be used for more than just day-dreaming.

 

Now if anyone wants to volunteer as my travelling partner, by all means, raise your hands.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: Explore

  1. Pingback: The Edinburgh Itinerary | Order In The Chaos

Leave a Reply

