“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them” – Lemony Snicket

bulldog wearing eyeglasses sleeping over a good novel

The public library was always my supplier of books when I was younger, until at the tender age of eleven, I borrowed a CD (I believe it was Sandi Thom’s ‘Smile, It Confuses People’) and promptly lost it. Too terrified to go back and tell them, I chose never to darken the doorstep of the library again. Since then, I’ve built up a very close relationship with bookstores and Amazon.

Aside from being too chicken to use the library again, I’m a big fan of actually owning books. My greatest ambition in life is to own a house with a library in it, thus I feel like I need to start collecting right now to have something to stock it with. Unfortunately, books aren’t so cheap, so my splurges can often be few and far between. However, with a new month, comes a fresh pay cheque, so I’ve run amok. Here are the books that are currently making their way to my postbox:

When-She-WokeWhen She Woke by Hilary Jordan

My friend’s mother is a librarian and she’s always a great woman to recommend a book. This is the same woman who introduced me to ‘The Hunger Games’ back in 2011, so I’ve learned to trust her. She told me about this book ages ago, but I’m only getting around to getting my hands on it now.

‘When She Woke’ is set in the mid-21st century, where a young woman in Texas wakes up to find her skin has been turned bright red, as punishment for the ‘crime’ of having an abortion. This book is essentially a modern take on Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter.

Tales of a Punk Rock Nothing by Abram Shalom Himelstein & Jamie Schwesertalescover

I recently found the best website ever – whatshouldireadnext.com – on which you type in the name or author of a book you like and it recommends similar books for you to read. I typed in ‘The Perks of Being A Wallflower’ and this was the book I was presented with. The reviews for it have been mixed, so I decided to check it out for myself.

‘Tales of a Punk Rock Nothing’ is more or less exactly what it says on the tin, a Jewish kid from Tennesse moves to Washington and falls into the punk rock scene. It’s only 160 pages, so it should make for a quick read.

The Spectacular NowThe Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

The race is on to read this book, before the film adaption hits cinema screens at the end of the summer. I watched the trailer for the film and it looks like a good one; albeit a typically angsty, awkward teen story.

The story goes something like; boy is popular, girl is not, boy meets girl and falls in love, boy takes strong dose of cop-on, the end. Well this is what I’m guessing it goes like. I’ll keep you posted.

Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom Tuesdays With Morrie

This is probably the book I’m most curious about. Mostly because according to all the reviews it has gotten, it’s going to change my life. It’s by no means a new book, it was first published in 1997 and later adapted for a made-for-TV movie in 1999. It’s now been made into a stage production and enjoyed a run in the Gaiety Theatre back in May.

‘Tuesdays With Morrie’ documents Mitch Albom’s final days with his former college professor who is dying of ALS, and some of the wisdom he has to share.

Leave a Reply

