Spin it again Mr DJ

The albums that have more or less been on repeat on my iPod/Spotify/YouTube account over the last few weeks, not in order of preference:

imagesThe Great Gatsby Soundtrack

Almost as amazing as the movie itself, is the soundtrack to The Great Gatsby. Lana Del Rey’s ‘Young and Beautiful’ is actually flawless. I could listen to it all day long on repeat. There’s also a lot more upbeat tracks on the album,  such as ‘A Little Party Never Killed Nobody’, which literally makes me want to get up and dance regardless of where I am. In fact, I particularly enjoy giving it socks to this song while driving, so look out for me on the roads.

KODALINE_in_a_perfect_world_web-460x460-192570_250x250

Kodaline – In A Perfect World

After teasing us with three (THREE!) EPs, Kodaline finally released their debut album last week and it’s everything I could have hoped for and more. It gives me chills. CHILLS. Plus they’re just a bunch of lads from Swords, which makes you feel extra proud of how good they are.

Little Green Cars – Absolute Zero

Absolute-Zero

Like Kodaline, Little Green Cars are flying the flag for the Irish music scene. Absolute Zero features their most well-known tracks such as ‘Harper Lee’ and ‘Big Red Dragon’ but it also has plenty more beauties such as ‘The John Wayne’ and ‘My Love Took Me Down To The River To Silence Me’. Myself and my girlo Valerie went to see them at Vicar Street last month and they were truly amazing live.

Bastille – Bad Blood

88739143

There’s very few albums hanging around that you can listen to and love every single track, but Bad Blood is definitely one of these. ‘Pompeii’ may be the best-known song off the album, but it’s by no means the best one. ‘Overjoyed’ and the titled track itself are my particular favourites. Chill music at its very best.

All-the-little-lightsPassenger – All The Little Lights

This is very much a lie-on-your-bed-and-contemplate-your-life type of album. Again, I also went to see Passenger (aka Mike Rosenberg) in Vicar Street last month and he told the audience some of the stories behind the different songs on the album AND NOW I CAN’T STOP RELATING TO THEM ALL.

Bruno Mars – Unorthodox Jukebox

images-1

I downloaded this album when it was first released last December but never actually got around to listening to it properly until recent weeks. Now I have it on repeat. Although ‘When I Was Your Man’ has almost been played to death, I still love it regardless. You’ll probably also find me singing along to ‘Young Girls’ at the top of my lungs as I walk home from work.

And I don’t want to hear anything of your music snobbery.

Leave a Reply

