A Night with Delorentos

delorentos_2006 (1)It’s hard to justify paying €60 to go to the O2 to see some famous band or artist perform, when you can go to Vicar Street and see a band like Delorentos play for just €20.

2012 has been a great year for Irish music, with up and coming bands such as Kodaline, Heathers and Delorentos themselves, all establishing themselves on the local music scene.

S.E.C.R.E.T was always a favourite of mine, however after my first listen to their album Little Sparks, these four Dublin-based lads had me completely sold. So when I found out that Delorentos were home from their touring of Europe and that they’d be playing Dublin on the 21st, I got myself and my credit card online to buy tickets. One quick text and it was easy to find someone to come with me. Cue listening to the album on repeat for the next few weeks.

Their performance on the night completely exceeded all my expectations. With a full Vicker Street in front of them, they admittedPicCollage themselves that this was the biggest Irish audience to which they had played. I found myself bobbing away to even the songs that I wasn’t hugely familiar with.

With the season that’s in it, the boys even belted out a Christmas song, which practically raised the roof as the entire audience swayed back and forth and sang their hearts out. All the while, some guy beside me gave it absolutely socks to each and every song. I’m not sure if he was in the whole of his sobriety though.

If they were playing a second night, I’d probably go again.
If you would like to read more about Delorentos, you can read my friend Valerie’s interview with them here.

Leave a Reply

